Diesel and Steam at Birkenhead Woodside
Old photo of the former Birkenhead Woodside railway station (England) taken in 1962. Birkenhead Woodside was first opened in 1878 but due to the line closures in the 1960s by dr. Beeching it was closed in 1967.
The station had two semi cylindrical roofs covering most of the five short platforms. Only part of the station wall, a road bridge and the tunnel currently exist. The remainder is turned into a bus depot (ironic).
The engines in this photo are to the right the 1959 Derby built DMU M50980 (108DMBS).
And to the left the steam locomotive 42202, Class 4P-C. Built in 1945 by London Midland & Scottish Railway Derby Works and disposed / cut up in 1965. Designed by Fairburn she was one of 277 that were built between 1945-51.
Photo © The Step Back Through Time Collection
Picture added on 26 October 2008